Recent Posts



Eating for Your Type

Once we understand our primary constitution (dosha) or the area where we most often get imbalanced, we can start tailoring our food choices according to some basic Ayurveda principles: the six tastes and the dosha qualities. The Six Tastes Ayurveda holds that there are six primary tastes: sweet, sour, salty, pungent, bitter, astringent. Examples of the sweet taste include such foods as rice, whole grains, milk, some root vegetables, sweet fruits, and sugars. Sour is found in foods such as citrus, fermented foods, and alcohol. Salty is anything that is naturally salty/briny. Pungent is found in spicy, "hot" foods. Bitter includes foods like green, leafy vegetables, coffee, and black tea. Astr

Ayurveda and Weight Loss

Ayurveda offers specific and individualized advice for what types of foods to eat based on your unique makeup and/or what specific issue you are trying to address. But I often get questions about weight loss, so I wanted to provide some very general guidelines that anyone can follow to get started: 1. Focus on what's important. When thinking about weight loss, it is most helpful if we keep our focus on the desire to be healthy and vibrant. Everyone wants to feel attractive, but we should let go of the need to fulfill some specific personal or cultural standard that simply might not be possible (or healthy) for our unique, natural constitution. What we can focus on, instead, is being the best

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon